BOSL or MIT - Orchard

This is a Monero free discussion. If we discuss Monero in this thread I’m sure it’ll be closed. The intent of this poll is to gauge the support of using MIT again. It’s normal to revisit past decisions and even change our mind. My hope is the poll is overwhelming one sided and we can squash this discussion quickly :crossed_fingers:.

• I support changing Orchard code license from BOSL to MIT
  • I don’t support changing the Orchard code license from BOSL to MIT

0 voters

4 Likes

Doesn’t the BOSL convert to MIT at some point? I think the question some may have is why use the BOSL?

I’m sure ECC had reasons for using it but as a person who knows little of software licensing I would like a better understanding of it.

I won’t try and speak for ECC but here is the blog post introducing the license.

3 Likes

Thank you!

(Disclaimer: I am not a copyright lawyer.)

No. BOSL is basically equivalent to GPL, except for one specific difference (that makes it mutually incompatible with GPL unless specific exceptions are present): Derivative Works (i.e. code that incorporates, extends, or changes any BOSL-licensed code) may be licensed as non-BOSL for up to 12 months from first being used publicly, after which they become BOSL-licensed.

Put another way:

• GPL is a strong copy-left license. If any GPL code ends up as part of your binaries, your source code is required to be immediately open-sourced, and immediately also be licensed as GPL.
  • MIT is a permissive license. It places almost no restrictions on how code may be used, and you can use it in codebases with any license (open source + copy-left, open source + permissive, closed source, whatever).