Is Zcash actually quantum private?

Hi,

First I want to express my admiration for the Zcash team (big fan of @daira especially!).

I’ve been studying the anonymity and privacy aspects of Zcash in detail. I apologise as I’m not a cryptography pro, I’m just a really serious user trying to understand it as well as I can. My goal is to be post-quantum private, i.e. not have my transactions publicly traceable or linkable by a quantum computer, based on what we know so far about QC.

If you do it right, Zcash appears to be by far the most private/anonymous cryptocurrency. Way superior to Monero, though I think using both in tandem is smart for current-day OPSEC. (Take advantage of the far bigger anonymity set of Monero in terms of physical transaction traffic per day, to increase resistance to timing analysis attacks, but still use Zcash’s post-quantum zk-SNARK privacy mechanism as the final layer). After much research, I learned Monero is a sitting duck waiting to be completely stripped naked by a quantum computer, probably in our lifetime. Monero feels like a religion, and Zcash closer to science. Smart to exploit both.

Zcash has so much potential, thank you for the upcoming Halo2 improvements like trust-free setup and reference wallets defaulting to shielded tx by default. I understand your adoption incentives to include AML compliance capability, and that’s OK if it’s transparently and solely in the control of end users.

I know perfection doesn’t exist - human-level factors are the final frontier of any OPSEC - but we need better clarification on Zcash’s technical post quantum privacy, and there are alarming observations about it (if @str4d is right in this thread, which would mean @Daira and @Zooko have been wrong in their statements), indicating that fully shielded Zcash is absolutely not (currently) quantum private, because only 1 of the big 3 identifying components of all shielded transactions is so (the sender address).