Zcash Ecosystem Security Lead

Hi Zcash community!

I’ve applied for a grant and I’d like to hear your feedback and ideas! Here’s a copy-paste of my application to save you a click.

Who am I and what’s my background?

My name is Taylor Hornby and I’ve been working to secure Zcash-related infrastructure and codebases over the past four years as a senior security engineer at Electric Coin Co. In that time, I’ve developed a good understanding of the Zcash protocol, its cryptography, and the architecture of Zcash wallets. As a result of that knowledge and experience, I am well-positioned to offer my security services to a wider set of projects across the Zcash ecosystem.

Before working on Zcash, I was an independent security consultant and researcher. I performed security audits of cryptography-focused software like encrypted filesystems, I presented my research on using cache side-channels to attack everyday programs at Black Hat USA, and I co-authored a popular PHP encryption library. For education, I have a BSc in Computer Science and a MMath in Quantum Information. You can find most of my public work and writing on https://defuse.ca/.

Description of Problem or Opportunity:

Both ECC and ZF have strong security programs, with engineers focused on security and a reputation for regularly funding third-party audits of the software they build. Zcash community projects, like those funded by grants or built by volunteers in the community, are also in need of security support.