Zcash Wallet Community Developer

Hello Zcash community!

I’m Pacu and I’ve applied for this grant

I’m going to copy the sections here so I can spare you a browser tab and some RAM memory :sweat_smile:

Applicant Background. Who am I?

I’m Pacu. I’m a Software Developer. I have a Master’s Degree in Software Engineering and I’ve been proudly working as a Zcash wallet developer for the last four years at Electric Coin Company, until this last May 24th. I didn’t interact in the forums as much as I would have wanted, so many might not know me well or at all! Anyhow, I’m pretty sure that most of you might have interacted with the code I worked on.

Disclaimer: I don’t like self-indulgence. The intent of this section is to recollect my participation and contributions to the Zcash space so you all can evaluate whether I have the necessary skills for the role I propose or not.

My overall experience

I always liked to work on stuff that people could take into their own hands. I’ve been developing software since 2008. First as a retro-porter at Gameloft where I learned to move around a myriad of code bases and game engines to fit popular games into low-end JavaME mobile phones, since then I’ve been dedicated to mobile-first applications.

I’m not a “grasshopper” kind of developer, so in these last 16 years of experience I’ve had 3 or 4 jobs at most. Nonetheless I’ve been able to work in Corporations, Unicorns, freelance gigs and start ups; from publishing, to Investment Firms, Entertainment Corporations, Travel and Leisure companies and lastly decentralizing finance and fighting for the right to privacy. But always within the last mile of the software chain from the server to people’s fingertips. In my last big corp gig I worked with more than 60 developers serving millions of users in LATAM for the biggest online travel agency.