Granted: Improved Lightweight Formal Verification of Halo2 Proof Systems

Hello everyone – it’s nice to meet you. My name is Jan Gorzny and I am a researcher at Quantstamp. I am delighted to share with you that our application in the title, “Improved Lightweight Formal Verification of Halo2 Proof Systems” was accepted for a Zcash minor grant!

I will be leading this effort at Quantstamp, and in the coming days we will ramp up our contributions to this grant. We’ll staff the project and allocate time, and look at the first deliverables in the grant. The work is a continuation of work that we had accepted to the SMT 2023 conference earlier this year, and we are excited to be able to enhance the tool with this grant. The work will likely be merged into this repository.

If you have any questions or comments, please don’t hesitate to ask. Looking forward to providing you with more substantial updates as the work progresses.

10 Likes

As I am a new user, I could only add two links to the post initially. So here is the paper paper accepted to SMT 2023, in case anyone is interested.

5 Likes

this is cool i guess. wish u luck to improve security and remove possibility for bugs.

Congratulations!

Hey everyone,

Just wanted to share a quick update. Jan has been incredibly busy with other commitments in the last few months, leading to a quieter period here. With that context, I’ll be stepping in to lead our efforts moving forward and giving updates about our progress.

Despite the silence, our project hasn’t been standing still. We’ve made significant progress focusing on the architecture and optimization of the project.

I’m sharing this document on our progress so far and what we’re planning to do in the next steps.

I’m here for any questions or thoughts you might want to share. Your continued support is crucial as we take these next steps together. Stay tuned for updates and developments coming your way soon.

Best,

2 Likes