Monero Adopting ZK-snarks: Ramifications

“If Monero does not adopt ZK-snarks they will lose to Zcash eventually…”

The idea of Monero using Zcash’s own technology and science to beat Zcash would be a Shakespearean tragedy.

More strategic partnerships, more bridges, more distribution, a better UI/wallets can counteract this from becoming a reality though I do believe both coins can co-exist. To be clear: I support both projects though I loathe the endless barrage of FUD and mudslinging at Zcash by the Monero community.

Any thoughts on this from our community, ECC, ZOMG and ZF?

3 Likes

Heyo. I feel the same basically.

Monero is discussing replacing ring signatures with Halo2 ZKPs (I think). One of the lead devs on it has Halo2 experience with another project IIRC. {If that happens} I’m not technical enough to say that makes their privacy protocol superior to Zcash, or vice versa, but it does remove the “weakest link” supposedly.

Wallet UX + IRL use cases is big. Monero.com + cakepay has a great UX. Cakewallet as a multi-currency wallet has great UX. Both have a lot of functionality and IRL use cases.

Idea: I’d love to see some community collaboration around Ywallet and/or Zingo!. I.e. UX design, marketing, partnerships, etc.

Imagine if we funded some independent community members to support @hanh or @zancas with these efforts, we could essentially create a competitor to Cakewallet as the ultimate “privacy coin” wallet.

But, as a community, we really would have to get behind it…

5 Likes

Monero will win, IMO. Zcash = trademarked walled garden professor coin with bad management larping as “cypherpunk”. Monero = private money. Simple as.

2 Likes

We can agree to disagree because I’m unwilling to bet against the team and strategy behind Zcash. I also disagree because I believe both projects can mutually co-exist. BTW - this doesn’t mean I am rooting against Monero. I am rooting for privacy as a human right in any and all forms.