My concern about the anonymity of Zcash

My biggest concern about the anonymity of the project, is the Founders Reward. To my understanding Zcash will be completely anonymous unless you have the key.

Well with rewarding the Founders 20%, of the blocks until the first halving consist of giving them a reward instead of a fiat? Would this not consist of having regulations since it will fall under a money service business?

I am New to the cryptocurrency, so, please forgive me if I am misunderstanding. I am just raising my concerns before getting too involved.

All mined coins are by default transparent. You need to convert the transparent coins into secure (private) coins for anonymity.

Yes, by default zcash is as anonymous as bitcoin. Also the trusted setup and lack of code/crypto review can question the privacy. Time will tell…

I thought you had to convert any coinbase transactions to a private address before they could be used?

I’m not sure about that.

I think you can send T to T and Z to Z I have only tested converting and sending Z.

From my understanding zcash is not anonymous by default. Only transactions between transparents coins are. Rest is like BTC.

As a person who has spent the last few years working in MSB related to crypto and provided consulting to the IRS, I think I can clarify a couple of things about MSBs.

The only two possible MSB activities Zcash Co. could be construed as participating in are money transfers/transmission and, from a total whack perspective, foreign currency exchange. I’ll tell you right now that Zcash Co. isn’t either of these just because they are taking a cut of their assets in crypto. It is basically the same as saying that somebody gets their paycheck in bitcoin, an MSB isn’t required for this.