Announcing my candidacy for a seat on the Major Grant Review Committee

“How about a pseudonymous community member whose only qualification is that they’ve been a voice for Zcash all along?” -Zooko

Thats me folks!

Hello Zcash Zealots,

I am @decentralistdan & I am officially announcing my candidacy for a seat on the Major Grant Review Committee. I have been an engaged Zcash community member & ZEC accumulator since 2018. Although I have no technical credentials & my IRL career is completely unrelated to the cybercoin space, I do have some related experience that specifically qualifies me for this position.

I have 3 years governance experience as an elected official to my Local Labor Union’s Board of Trustees, where I am directly responsible for helping decide how our Union’s funds are allocated & doing quarterly audits. I also personally interact with other Union members to gage community sentiment around how funds should be distributed. Other responsibilities include fraud prevention, ensuring anyone who handles funds are properly bonded, & giving reports/presentations at our quarterly meetings.

Outside of that, I have spent most of my free time over the last couple years obsessively grokking Zcash & Bitcoin. Recently I have been trying to figure out how I can become a more formal contributor to the Zcash ecosystem in an official capacity & see this as the perfect opportunity. I realize I may not be considered a qualified candidate to some degree but feel that my IRL Trustee experience & my time spent in the cybercoin space make me a solid candidate to represent on behalf of other Zcash Zealots. Below I will also describe some of my other community based “qualifications” & opinions on moving Zcash forward with the new Dev Fund grants.

-launched the #z2zchain experiment to create conversation around #z2z txs & z-address adoption
-new z9mini miner
-zecpages.com user
-zecmailer.com user
-run @zcashzeal on twitter
-zecwallet z-address user