Shielded Support for Ledger Hardware Wallets (NanoS+, NanoX)

Title:

Shielded Support for Ledger Hadware Wallets (NanoS+, NanoX)

Applicant name:

hann

Pitch: A one-liner elevator pitch version of your proposal

Zcash Sapling and Orchard support in Ledger

Total Request (USD):

$300100.00 USD

Have you previously received a grant from Zcash Community Grants (formerly called ZOMG) or ZF?

Yes

Please provide details:

Cold Wallet

BTCPayServer Integration

YWallet

Are you seeking or have you received funding from other sources for this proposed project?

No

Applicant background:

I am the author of YWallet and the creator of Warp Sync. Previously I worked as a Senior Software Engineer at Microsoft and was the CTO of a Hedge Fund in Asia.

Description of Problem or Opportunity:

Shielded pools are not usable in hardware wallets. There is an ongoing effort to make Trezor work (Orchard only) and Ledger (Sapling only). But not both.

This proposal would bring shielded pools (Sapling & Orchard) to Ledger popular series of Hardware Wallets (NanoS+ and above). These wallets are popular, affordable and have a secure element chip making them a highly secure solution for storing zcash.

Proposed Solution: Describe the solution at a high level.

1. Integrate Zondax zcash-ledger into YWallet

2. Extend zcash-ledger with Orchard & UA

3. Integrate with YWallet

Solution Format: What is the exact form of the final deliverable you’re creating?

YWallet will have a new type of account backed by a Ledger. During account creation, the user will have the option to connect to a Ledger. Then Ywallet will take care of synchronization and note maintenance. As such the account behaves as a watch-only wallet.

Signing will require plugging in the device and user authorization.

Technical Approach: Dive into the how of your project. Describe your approaches, components, workflows, methodology, etc. Bullet points and diagrams are appreciated!