Test "check-security-hardening" FAILED [SOLVED]

Hello,
While executing tests right after a fresh v1.0.12 install on CentOS7, i get a failed check. Even more worrying that its named “check-security-hardening” :

===== BEGIN: /usr/src/zcash/qa/zcash/check-security-hardening.sh
[...]
Checking binary security of [zcashd zcash-cli zcash-tx]...
zcash-cli: failed NX RELRO
zcash-tx: failed NX RELRO
make: *** [check-security] Erreur 1
[...]
===== FAILED: /usr/src/zcash/qa/zcash/check-security-hardening.sh

I’ll try to have a look at source code but i’m not an expert at all so i still need help at the moment.

Thanks for helping!

PS: I saw similar but unanswered topic from a year ago : Check-security-hardening failed

1 Like

This is probably Building on debian with GCC 6 (and/or updated binutils, maybe?) fails during check-security-hardening.sh · Issue #2212 · zcash/zcash · GitHub . Which GCC and binutils versions did you build with?

Versions:

• GCC 4.9.2 20150212 (Red Hat 4.9.2-6) (gcc -v)
  • GNU ld version 2.24 (ld -v)
  • GNU assembleur 2.24 […] BFD version 2.24 (as -v)

And this is an enlighted version of yum list installed (i tried to remove everything i know was out of topic but let in-scl unknown packages). And yes i use autotools-latest scl with devtoolset-3 to avoid out of date centOS packages.

scl enable devtoolset-3 ‘scl enable autotools-latest bash’

autoconf.noarch                         2.69-11.el7              @base
automake.noarch                         1.13.4-3.el7             @base

autotools-latest.x86_64                 1-14.el7.centos          @praiskup-autotools-epel-7-x86_64
autotools-latest-autoconf.noarch        2.69-4.el7.centos        @praiskup-autotools-epel-7-x86_64
autotools-latest-automake.noarch        1.15-4.el7.centos        @praiskup-autotools-epel-7-x86_64
autotools-latest-libtool.x86_64         2.4.2-16.el7.centos      @praiskup-autotools-epel-7-x86_64