User considerations around chain-splits/airdrops including Ycash

Hi all,

I wanted to share some caution around trading or speculating with chain-split or airdropped assets (often called “forks” although that term can mean other different things). This is obviously prompted by the impending Zcash / Ycash chain split, although nothing here is specific to this particular split.

I’m far from an expert on financial issues. If you want to learn from experts about this very topic, I recommend listening to What Grinds My Gears, episode 15: Fork Yourself. I still think my technical and security considerations are pretty good, though. I recommend seeking out other’s opinions, too.

This is my own personal post and isn’t an official ECC post, nor have I asked anyone at ECC to vet this. There are several FIXME comments where I’m soliciting more community scrutiny.

See all of my disclosures and caveats at the end.

Technical, Social, and Security Considerations

Key Management

:zcash: Recommendation for Zcash/Ycash:

• If you trust a wallet or exchange that offers to support the ZEC/YEC split management for you, that will be the most user friendly experience.
  • If you manage your own private keys, ensure after the split to move your ZEC to a new address created after the split before importing the secret key into Ycash software to claim the YEC. If you are using shielded funds, there’s a further privacy consideration below.

When a blockchain splits, there’s often not a lot of user-friendly support for users to manage the newly created asset. Therefore it is common for interested users to attempt to manage their own secret keys directly. This is a big topic and difficult skill, even for experienced users. If there is a wallet or exchange you trust to competently manage the new asset for you, using that is the simplest option.