Title:

YWallet & Warp Sync

Applicant name:

hanh

Pitch: A one-liner elevator pitch version of your proposal

Fast Shielded Wallet & Synchronization

Total Request (USD):

$500000.00 USD

Have you previously received a grant from Zcash Community Grants (formerly called ZOMG) or ZF?

Yes

Please provide details:

• Cold Wallet

• BTCPayServer Integration

Are you seeking or have you received funding from other sources for this proposed project?

No

Applicant background:

I am the author of YWallet and the creator of Warp Sync. Previously I worked as a Senior Software Engineer at Microsoft and was the CTO of a Hedge Fund in Asia.

Description of Problem or Opportunity:

Part of the grant is retroactive and applies to YWallet. It took over a year of development to reach its current state.

Following on Zooko idea of offering grants for projects that have delivered value to the Zcash ecosystem, I apply for YWallet to receive the first grant of this kind.

Due to increased transaction volume and high block occupancy, most wallets have considerable difficulty in maintaining their operation. Thanks to Warp Sync, YWallet was quite successful in keeping up with the new workload.

I offer to integrate Warp Sync into librustzcash. Other wallets would then benefit from the same technology as YWallet and have their synchronization speed multiplied, in some cases by 100x. Note that WarpSync is currently only for Sapling.

Proposed Solution: Describe the solution at a high level.

Warp Sync code is made of the following parts:

• Processing pipeline,

• Adaptative downloader,

• Parallel batch trial decrypter

• Optimized witness merkle tree calculator

• Transaction Detail Processor

• Database/Storage

These parts would be put into librustzcash and wallet devs would be able to use them. There would be some small work to integrate. But documentation and help will be provided.

Solution Format: What is the exact form of the final deliverable you’re creating?