100% hands-off turnkey AWS solo mining and fullnodes

I just dropped a 100% hands-off AMI for AWS to do solo mining and run fullnode wallets at:
http://zcash.mercerweiss.com

AMI IDs for all AWS regions are at that url
A non-mining fullnode should be able to run in the AWS free-tier

5 Likes

thank you very much @anon47418038 !
How can I mine to a pool?

You’d have to use a pool miner, my AMI uses zcashd with the Tromp solver
activated, so solo mining or running a fullnode.

Ok, thanks!
After zcash launch, will we need to create a new wallet or do anything else?

Excuse my questions, but I am a noob

S’okay! All of the files for testnet connections are in the ~/.zcash/testnet directory, and everything for mainnet is in ~/.zcash itself, so the same machine (virtual or otherwise!) can have files for both blockchains, live and test, co-existing on it without them interfering with each other. The first time zcashd runs and connects to either network, it automatically creates a wallet, and then loads that wallet.dat file whenever its started up on that net (main or test).

That’s great !! However I wasn’t able to see the logs in foreground despite using showmetrics.
Do you know how many sol/s on a c3.xlarge ?

So if I run this from the ~/.zcash I won’t need to change anything else for when the full net is live?

what should I type in order to backup my wallet? does anybody know?

Looks like I need to update the images to the final release and add the mainnet to the zcash.conf, their dnsseed isn’t working right :frowning:

If zcashd is stopped you can backup the wallet.dat file, just like on bitcoin (zcash is a fork!)

I get like 4 sol/s with an rx3.large do you think it is normal ?

I don’t know yet, I’m testing right now myself…I’m running on c3.xlarge and c3.2xlarge’s right now, as they have the best CPU per $$, don’t need tons of ram

If you are running any of these AMI’s, it looks like zcash.conf and the deb that’s installed need to be updated. To do so: