How to undervolt & optimize with msi afterburner or amd wattman

Ok, i’m kind of new to this. i do not want to start with flashing my bios yet, just fiddling around with settings and checking out what the possibilities are. of course one day sooner or later i will want to flash my bios, but first i need to get a good feeling about what i’m doing.

I own a MSI RX 470 8GB Gaming X, and i have tried to optimize it’s settings already.
since i’m very new to this, i could use the input of you guys!
the defaults from this card are as follows: gpu clock 1242, mem clock 1650.
with these stock settings i am getting around 147-148 H/s and in GPU-Z the avg power draw is around 78.8W.

Goal i want to achieve, low Watt per H/s ratio, the electricity is very expensive over here (€0.20 per Kwh).

The tools that i have used:

• msi afterburner
  • amd wattman
    -TechPowerUp GPU-Z

so far i understand the following:

TechPowerUp GPU-Z
with this tool you are supposed to be able to check which type of memory you have because of flashing it later on. i have no idea where i could find this information in the tool though.
for now i am using this tool to check my ASIC Quality (for this card that i currently have it’s 68.6%).
furthermore i use this tool in the sensors tab, i select ‘Show Average Reading’ from the select list under ‘GPU only Power Draw’, to get a quick (but not complete usage of the card) overview of what i’m more or less using, and what is the impact of changing settings.

msi afterburner
with this tool i can set the core voltage (mV). i have read somewhere that if you want to undervolt it’s good practise to start with -72 and continue to around -95.
nice part is that msi afterburner changes it by itself to multipliers of 6 , so i guess the tools knows what it’s doing :slight_smile:
furthermore i have used it to change the gpu clock from 1242 to 1150, and the mem clock from 1650 to 2000.
all good, this dramatically lowers my avg power draw.