Unlimited GPUs on 1 System!?!

Saw this somewhere, these expansion cards…can run so many GPUs on 1 board

1 Like

The cable management of that would be a monster.

Where did you see these, I would be interested.
Power should be fun too.

1 Like

if you think you can plug a riser usb cable run 13 gpu’s off of each board for a total of 104 gpu’s, you are very mistaken.

2 Likes

@CitricAcid
Why?

Would that not depend on what the slot type is and if it can deal with the bandwidth required? a 1x slot is one thing, a 8x is another.
Other than power, I don’t see a big issue.

From my knowledge, a 1x slot wont do what you see in this picture, there is not enough bandwidth available for that many GPUs. I believe that board supports 12 or 13 1x slots for mining.
Now if it was an 8x slot, why not?
I believe there is a chip on board that controls the lanes. I have a similar board, that supports 4 gpu per slot. 13 is another can of worms…

1 Like

First of all: I’m an amateur.
Second: @darkrider Based on what I read online, the cap on the amount of GPUs that one can connect would be based on two things: 1) the amount of chipset PCI-E lanes, 2) the amount of CPU PCI-E lanes.

Am I right? Please, correct me if I am wrong - I always wanna learn :smiley:
PS. For example, this is the diagram for the B250 Chipset that is used in the mobo, like the one brought up above

you would be correct.

I have seen 1 to 2 splitter work on the PCI express x16 slot. I’ve seen video’s of 1 to 3 and 1 to 4 on the same slot.
There is not enough lanes to do more, especially on the PCI-E slots.
Those extenders are more for people who want to connect USB - external hard drivers or usb drives for that type of cryptomining.

Hi @CitricAcid

Could you provide some links please. I can’t find a lot about it.

I have one of those 1 to 4 Splitters. I have tried it once. It was recognised and installing drivers, but then system froze. Same after restart → freeze. Asus P5Q Deluxe and win 7 pro 64 Bit.