ZCash ideal linux environment

Hi, I’m new to ZCash and want to set up Linux machine for learning about mining Zcash. Is there an advantage to setting up a dual boot (separate) Linux machine vs just running it as a Virtual Machine in Windows? Will one do the work faster?

I have a few computers I would like to get up to speed and I am also a bit of a Linux Newb, any information would be helpful, Thank you!

1 Like

Thanks for the copy paste Voluntary, I’ve got a PC with 8 gigs ram and an 8 core i7 so it may work nicely.

I’m just not sure if I should install Linux as a virtual machine in windows 7 or do a dual boot beside windows 7 to make the most of my ram+cpu.

All I can say for sure is that I had trouble trying to compile the source on a computer with only 6GB.

But I will speculate that once you have the program compiled, the amount of memory presently required may not be as much. So, if you can’t compile on your virtual machine, do a real install (perhaps on a spare hard drive?) for the compile and then copy the compiled program and proving keys folders back to your virtual setup if that’s what you prefer.

I’m beating a dead horse here, but not having the option to download an archive of a pre-compiled program folder sets the bar quite high for those of us willing to experiment on the testnet…

Thanks for the information :slight_smile: it sounds like I will need all the power I can get so a dual boot will be a better solution.
On a side note I was planning on going with Linux Mint, but since Zooko is using Ubuntu I will go that route.

Thanks for the help!

I don’t think the amount of memory is crucial for compiling. As an experiment (to check out whether my compilation problems were related to the version of debian), I have installed latest debian in a virtual machine (running on Windows) to which I’ve allocated 2 CPUs and 2GB of RAM. I then followed the instructions in the alpha guide, compiled and started zcash without any problems and it mines just fine.