Title:

Block explorer + Testnet infrastructure

Applicant name:

Cacho

Pitch: A one-liner elevator pitch version of your proposal

To provide developers community with a testnet infrastructure

Total Request (USD):

$15000.00 USD

Have you previously received a grant from Zcash Community Grants (formerly called ZOMG) or ZF?

No

Are you seeking or have you received funding from other sources for this proposed project?

No

Applicant background:

With more than 15 year of experience in technical and managerial positions, explored diverse industries and their challenges.

In my academy facet, I got a Phd and perform research in software engineering. I’m teaching Cryptocurrency Introduction Lecture at the National University of La Plata where one of the main topics is privacy and Zcash as the main platform to transact tokens. I’m presenting this grant based on a need identified during Zcash teaching where basic resources for browsing block information and tokens for assets are require.

In the industry side, I’m am leading some development projects and product implementations.

Description of Problem or Opportunity:

Zcash community actively works on providing the technology for a blockchain focused on privacy. These privacy properties are not present in other blockchains making Zcash unique on its kind, therefore both developers and end-users may need a different learning path to familiarize themselves with the concept of a privacy preserving blockchain and cryptocurrency protocol.

Testnet plays a fundamental role in the development cycle of a blockchain ecosystem. And most importantly during the first steps of any end-user and developer with intentions of joining the community. During the Zconf 24 it was claimed many times by key players that the community should focus on providing tools to ease the technology adoption. Unfortunately the official testnet node is not working, limiting the approach of any person interested in the blockchain using a safe method.