Cold Storage Thread

The silly season is coming to an end, and the time to mine-and-sell is nearly over and done.

For the fair-weather miners that means it’s time to flee to pastures new, complaining about how Zcash is a bust, and you’ve sold all your ZEC and bought Monero. So long, friends!

For the rest of us, this is what we’ve been waiting for. Time to mine and actually hold, hedging our bets against the future. There’s just one problem. How do you hold ZEC safely?

And that is why I am creating this fine, upstanding gentleman of a thread.

Having searched the forums and wiki pretty extensively, there is insufficient information on wallet backup, cold storage, and offline signing for my comfort.

If I’m going to hold ZEC, I don’t want to find out I’ve been holding it in a corrupted wallet for two years, or that I’ve only backed up some of the necessary files, or that I’ve leaked all my private keys in a puddle on the floor.

So let’s talk about how to hold ZEC safe and sound. What are the principles? How can we best encrypt? What exactly needs backed up to be guaranteed to be recoverable in future, and in future versions of Zcash. Should we hold in a t-address? Do we trust z-addresses for holding? Does holding in a Z-address sufficiently complicate the offline transactions, that we should avoid? What time is it? Who am I? Why does asparagus make my pee smell?

We should find a consensus on all this and more.

7 Likes

maybe this might help, Ledger Nano S Zcash support soon
that said, good questions you’re asking though.

Use the nano S from ledger.

2 Likes

Good thread. I’ve been trying to research this a little here and there since before launch. I imagine that this approach from bitcoin won’t differ too much (How to set up a secure offline savings wallet - Bitcoin Wiki). Offline zcash building advice given here: Building zcash on airgapped machines is difficult · Issue #1663 · zcash/zcash · GitHub