How do I transfer ZCash in my JAXX wallet to my PayPal

The title says it all. I’m new to mining and I just got enough to payout to my JAXX wallet. Woo-hoo! Now I need to transfer the ZEC to USD and put it on my PayPal. How can I do this?

Sign up with an exchange, go through the KYC processes, provide them with your bank details, send your coins to the exchange, sell them for USD, and then withdraw the USD. Many of the exchanges only support wire transfers and not ACH (Kraken for e.g.).

I’ve resorted to exchanging my ZEC for BTC (on Bitfinex), purchasing ETH, transferring ETH to my Coinbase account, and then selling the ETH (which sells for USD and automatically deposits into my bank via ACH). A bit complicated, but avoids BTC and wire transfer delays and transaction fees.

BTW, the Jaxx team advise against mining to their wallet.

Why do they advise against it

Please google for the article on the Jaxx support website.

because unless you have a LOT of hashpower, mining payouts generate lots of little tiny UTXO’s (Unspent Transaction Outputs), and it takes a long time to verify transactions with a lot of tiny inputs, and you can only have around 100 or so inputs to a tx before verification takes too long.

So they really can’t afford to have tons of tiny notes clogging up their wallets that have lots of funds in them for lots of people. Its a technical limitation there is no easy way around (for all bitcoin-family currencies).

I myself sometimes sell ZEC for BTC with shapeshift and have it sent to my wallet on localbitcoins.com, where I then sell for dollars into my paypal. But then you have to deal with all the stuff that comes with localbitcoins (you need to learn the ins and outs of their reputation system, etc).

Alternatively I also have a bitpay card, which is what I use most of the time now. You can deposit BTC to it and boom! its on a Visa debit card. Bitcoin Debit Card by BitPay | Turn Crypto Into Dollars Instantly