Mining HW - beginner edition

Hi there,

I am new to mining (even though it’s pretty late unfortunately) and would like to start it. Would you mind helping me with choosing appropriate hardware? Can you recommend me some GPU that would suit this purpose the best? I have been looking at MSI GeForce GTX 1070 ARMOR 8G OC but not sure if it is “good enough” or there are better choices for better money.

Thanks you.

Cheers,
nts

whatever is a good price these days.
TB250 is a nice mining board, but theres a lot of boards you can get that will work fine.

my recommendation is sure get the msi 1070 8g if its not an inflated price… get whatever is available as 1070 is very hard to get these days…

then get

TB250
G3900
4G DDR4
an m.2 SSD
some sata ver007 risers
power it with a G1300G2
and a nice cryptomined 6GPU frame to go with it all

ok im really going to sleep

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. Much appreciate it. Is CPU G3900 enough for the GPU I have chosen? Will the GPU will use all its power with that CPU?

yes, it is enough, the CPU is not very important when GPU mining, get the cheapest you can
the G3900 is a 6th gen intel core CPU so you can run all versions of windows on it. If you get a 7th gen it can only run windows 10 and no previous versions, that is why i recommend G3900
Both will work on a 7th gen board… as the TB250 is a 7th gen board.

I don’t recommend Windows 10. Windows 10 has a lot of processes running in the background. Try to find a torrent Windows 7 and also download Windows loader to activate it. I left Windows 10 last weekend too many bugs. Just put Linux mint on my laptop so I can get familiar with it. This weekend I’ll be putting mint on my mining rig and silent army miner. I use minergate to mine xmr with my cpu while the gpus are mining zcash. I would like to find a motherboard that will hold 6 gpus and an amd 8 core cpu

just use a firewall and block it all… and sc delete the useless stuff through command prompt