Building my own miner

Back in September 2017 I started to get into Mining. I have Nheqminer source code on the PC and got a 1060ti GFX card to do some hashing too.
I am a hardware designer and program software and firmware. FPGA design work for almost 2 decades now. So I thought I’d set my self a challenge. Can I make an FPGA out perform an i7 processor? or maybe even a GFX card?.

Well through many ups and downs, I am getting close. The main bottle neck being access to RAM. The FPGA dosn’'t have enough RAM to do all the processing internally. Really you need around 180Mb, Now FPGA’s with that amount of RAM are available, but at a huge cost like £1000’s. My aim was to run an FPGA for around £30 with 256Mb of DDR ram.

I have been looking at CPU Tromps code, and looking at the Digit1 to Digit8 code. Its reading all the hashes generated every time. So Reading 64Mb, writing 64Mb, in the early stages, and Reading/Writing less towards the later stages.

So we need to move around 500Mb of RAM to get around 2 solutions. The DDR3 RAM I’m using is 1066mb/s per output(16 bit chip) which is 2Gbytes per second max, this is not including refresh cycles. So I’m not going to get more than 8 sols/s using this RAM, although could have more than one RAM widening the data width, but then need more FPGA pins, therefore more price. The Core I7 is doing around 14 sol/s.

What I am wondering is there another way to so the Digit1 to Digit 8 sorting. I thought it was just looking for duplicates, but tracking back the solution indexes, the source 192bits are not identical.

I still have much code to convert to FPGA code, but getting figures from the maximum the DDR rates and how much data I need to move around gives me an idea of what hashing speed it to be expected.
I have the hashing code in the VHDL and its generating that as quick as DDR can store it.