Just want to transfer my coins to ledger

Hi. I am new here. I am a newbie at cryptocurrency in general. So I’m sure many of my questions are probably going to sound very beginner. I’ve tried my best to educate myself before coming here.

Context: I have a macbook I plan on selling. I bought a bunch of different crypto currencies years ago, setup their respected wallets all on the same laptop. I pretty much have not opened any of them since then bought the coins and transferred them to my desktop wallets. I’ve decided to go with a ledger hardware wallet moving forward. Now I’m trying to open all these desktop wallets and transfer them over to my ledger.

Question: My ZCash wallet will not “Connect”. It shows a “No Connection” with a stop sign icon next to it in the bottom right corner. I’m assuming this is it trying to communicate with the network. Under the zecwallet menu preferences there is a “zcashd connection” tab with “Host/Port/RPC Username/PRC Password”. It looks like at one point I updated from zcash4mac and now I’m on ZecWallet v0.76. I also remember filling up my hard drive once by trying to download the entire blockchain (because I was new and didn’t know what I was doing). And this laptop doesn’t have much space left on it, so I’d prefer to avoid this issue. Please help.

Hi @protobyte welcome to the forum :grin:

Ok, so it sounds like you have already migrated your ZEC from zcash4mac to ZecWallet (which is good because zcash4mac is obsolete) and you had already gone through the process of syncing.

Zcash had a hard fork in December and v0.76 is not compatible since the Blossom upgrade.

First thing would be to update ZecWallet:

Try that and get back to us, if that doesn’t work there are other options to export your private keys to a new wallet.

There is even a lite version of ZecWallet which doesn’t require a Blockchain download: https://zecwallet.co

1 Like