Uhh...balance is still zero...am I doing this right?

First of all: I’m a noob to zcash—and cryptocurrency mining in general, really—today is my first attempt.

I followed the 1.0-User-Guide, turned on the `tromp’ solver, and it appears to be mining away. Yay! Except…well…my balance still 0.00000000. How many “equihash solver runs” do I need to mine before my balance starts ticking up?

To give a little more info, I’ve been staring at the following:

Thank you for running a Zcash node!
You're helping to strengthen the network and contributing to a social good :)
You are running 8 mining threads.
Since starting this node 21 minutes, 27 seconds ago:
- You have validated 1296 transactions!
- You have contributed 13.8329 Sol/s on average to the network solution rate.
- You have completed 9358 Equihash solver runs.
[Press Ctrl+C to exit] [Set 'showmetrics=0' to hide]

Also, when I do a zcash-cli getinfo, I see:

{
    "version" : 1000050,
    "protocolversion" : 170002,
    "walletversion" : 60000,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 700,
    "timeoffset" : 0,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 16761.68271725,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1477673489,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "relayfee" : 0.00005000,
    "errors" : ""
}

Someone help me out here. I’ve mined many blocks, but balance is still zero. Am I doing it wrong? Or does it just take a really really long time before even 0.00000001 ZEC gets mined?

You haven’t mined any blocks, you’ve only submitted solves. If you are solo mining with 8 you have a very small chance of mining a block.

Ok, then what does "blocks" : 700 mean?