Zcash Nvidia Build

Hi guys, I’m new to zcash mining. I’ve read that Nvidia cards gives out a higher sols/s rate as compared to amd cards. I’m planning a 6 gtx 1080 zcash miner build, i could not find any guides for such a build. Is the building process the same as building an ethereum rig? (I’ve built ethereum mining rig) I’m planning on using the MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G DDR5 card. Are there any drivers that I should have before trying out? I have 1 msi z170a gaming pro carbon and one z170a m5 gaming motherboard. Any advice or pointers are much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

1 Like

@Roddin If you’ve built a mining rig for Ethereum, the build specs for Zcash rigs are basically the same. The only difference I would suggest is the one you already mentioned: use Nvidia cards instead of AMD, but I believe the 1070 is better than the 1080 when you look at performance per dollar. You’ll have to make that determination based on the prices you can find in your country. You may even find that AMD cards are still a better value, it all depends on the prices available to you.

Thanks man. The difference between 1070 and 1080 over here is roughly 100 USD. So I thought I’d like to try out the 1080s. Most probably will build another one on the 1070 as recommended by u since I have 2 unused motherboards.

How many of the 1080s can each of those motherboards take? I have been looking for motherboards which can take around 5-6 GPUs but I could not find any. I am new to the motherboard game so I might have overlooked the specs while reading.

I’ve not done an nvidia build as of yet. Still researching. But with amd the standard btc cards should be be able to support 6 and gpus. I’m currently running the msi z170a gaming pro carbon which can run 7 amd gpus.

1 Like

Any board with 6 PCI slots will do. Whether they are x1 or x16. You just need to get riser cards, otherwise your GPUs will catch on fire if you try to cram 4-6 GPU’s on top of each other :smiley: